(FIFA) –


goals is what Chris Wondolowski reached, thanks to ending a 12-game goal drought with four against Chicago Fire, to surpass Landon Donovan and become Major League Soccer’s all-time leading marksman.


years is what it took Piast Gliwice to win their first trophy. The team who dramatically survived relegation on final day of last season began the Ekstraklasa’s seven-matchday Championship phase seven points adrift of both Lechia Gdansk and Legia Warsaw, but incredibly made up 1.7 and 1.6 points per round on them respectively to finish four points clear.


Bundesliga titles is what Bayern Munich made it with a record-extending seventh straight triumph – the same total, amazingly, as the other 54 clubs to have appeared in the competition have between them. Meanwhile Franck Ribery, a Frenchman, became the first player to win nine German top-tier titles.


goals in back-to-back La Liga seasons is what Celta Vigo’s Iago Aspas became only the second Spaniard to register this century after David Villa in 2008/09 and 2009/10.


seconds is all it took Amadou Sagna to score the fastest goal in FIFA U-20 World Cup history. Nigeria’s Monday Odiaka had held the record for rippling Canada’s net after 14 seconds in 1985. By netting all Senegal’s goals in a 3-0 win over Tahiti, Sagna became just the second African in the competition’s 42-year history to hit a hat-trick, after Egypt’s Mohamed Ibrahim in 2011.


goals was the margin by which Manchester City became just the second team – and first in 116 years – to win an FA Cup final. Bury beat Derby County 6-0 in 1903. The 6-0 pummelling of Watford helped Pep Guardiola’s side finish their FA Cup campaign on 26 goals – the most a team had scored since Charlton Athletic (29) and Derby (37) in 1945/46.


assists in the last two UEFA Women’s Champions League finals – in just 88 minutes of playing time – is astonishingly what Netherlands attacker Shanice van de Sanden has registered after Lyon punished Barcelona 4-1 to win their fourth successive crown. Ada Hegerberg, meanwhile, became just the fifth player – after Alfredo Di Stefano, Ferenc Puskas, Pierino Prati and Inka Grings – to hit a hat-trick in the final of Europe’s most prestigious male or female club competition.


shots on target, over 120 minutes, is the total with which Sydney FC became the first team in history to win an A-League Grand Final. A whopping 15 clearances from Alex Wilkinson against Premiers and favourites Perth Glory helped ensure a Grand Final finished goalless for the first time. Thereafter, Sydney won 4-1 on penalties to equal arch-rivals Melbourne Victory’s record of four A-League crowns and become the first club to lift two outside their own state.


times had five clubs won back-to-back titles simultaneously in Europe’s big five leagues until Barcelona, Bayern Munich, Juventus, Manchester City and Paris Saint-Germain ensured history.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

thirteen − 6 =